Day 2 Sculpture Update

Back at it early this morning. I put in three quality hours, most of it working off the measurements sheet and getting the basic head proportions nailed down.  After that it was locating features on the head and roughing them in.PreFront There isn’t much actual modeling done Frontat this point. The fun work starts next session as I begin to work on capturing some detail and expression. Note that, with the slant of the eye sockets and beginnings of the mouth, I’ve tried to impart a sense of sadness. It may be too much, we’ll see as I begin to develop the head.

An editorial comment: I had forgotten how much fun manipulating the clay was! There is a  tactile sensation (much like throwing on the wheel) that I enjoy. Keep in mind, it has been perhaps six or seven years sinse I last worked on a head. I think I did four while at the University of Texas. Need to do more. At this stage, I am very satisfied with both progress and results.


LH ProfileI’ve sprayed and bagged the head and will probably work on some painting when I get back from an afternoon appointment at Concordia University. We will re-engage tomorrow morning after the sculpture has had an opportunity to stabilize from the addition of about four pounds of new clay.

RH ProfileRearJoe 1

About joeblanfordart

I am a painter and mark-maker working primarily in oil and watercolor. While I prefer a vivid, contemporary pallette, my style tends to be representational, drawing inspiration from a multitude of sources including the Balrbizon School and the Impresssionists that followed. Art is a journey and my approach is evolving with each new discovery.
This entry was posted in Art Work In Progress, Tips & Techniques and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment