Little Free Library

Now here’s a departure….. I had an acquaintance ask if I would accept a commission to paint her Little Free Library Box in a wildflower motif. For a number of reasons, I said yes. I have an upcoming project involving acrylic and have done little in acrylic over the last few years (a good chance to revisit the medium before the project which will also be on primed wood). Second, I like painting wildflowers but florals seem to be a tough sell at shows and the like, so I do not do them as often as I would like. And last but not least, it’s a paying gig! Now that the project is done, I have to say, I seriously underestimated the time needed to complete the project. That said, I am happy with the result and, yes, it was fun.

LS 2RS 2

First task was to prime the raw wood and I opted for gesso I tinted with some raw Back Finalpigment I picked up in Provence a few years back. Then I laid in the trim with Raw Siena out of the tube. The rest of the palette was really simple….. Cobalt RS FinalBlue, Cad Red and Cad Yellow with a Final FinalBack Finallittle Alizarin, Yellow Ochre, Pthalo Green and Titanium White. The photos give a sense of the progression from start to finish. I sketched things in with thinned yellow ochre. What I ended up with is three wildflower portraits and the flag graphic on the roof.

So, there you have it….project completed Library Collageand ready to be mounted on the client’s property. Time to get back to other projects from the France trip!

LS Final

About joeblanfordart

I am a painter and mark-maker working primarily in oil and watercolor. While I prefer a vivid, contemporary pallette, my style tends to be representational, drawing inspiration from a multitude of sources including the Balrbizon School and the Impresssionists that followed. Art is a journey and my approach is evolving with each new discovery.
This entry was posted in Art Work In Progress, Finding Inspiration and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

