Happy Easter Post

It’s been a busy Lenten season and tomorrow is Easter………time for serious reflection and contemplation. With tomorrow’s sunrise service this artist’s schedule begins morphing back to something resembling “normal” (whatever that is). The Lenten presentation and the associated art work appears to have been a success. The Wimberley Valley Art Fest at the Blue Hole and my small part as Plein Aire Chairman came off without a hitch and we had nine artists participating (up from two last year).  I even made the front page of the Wimberley View! But a little confession must be made. Plein Aire PaintoutThe caption says the piece I was working on was auctioned off at the Art Fest. Well, a picture was auctioned off but not the one on the easel. The pic was taken Friday and when I arrived early the next morning to finish, I found that all the “stuff” on the store front had been taken down in prep for a BBQ Cookoff. Just as well…… I didn’t like the composition, the value relationships or the color set-up. Pretty much covers the full range of possible issues! Long story short, I switched gears and completed another painting of yucca, agave and other flora next to the storefront. Didn’t win the People’s Choice Award again this year but a successful outing nonetheless. I’ll be posting another attempt at the store front in oil once I get back into the swing of studio work.

You will recall that the storefront was one of the subjects for the Wimberley Valley Art League demo I did  a few weeks back. I have done a couple additional pours on this one as well as the Onion Creek demo. Here they are for your viewing pleasure. Onion Creek DemoMore on this as I Wall Sreet Western Demobring them along next week.

Finally, you may recall I did some ceramic crosses around Christmas last year. I have had numerous inquiries from people about where they might get one (and have orders for two) so I decided to do a fund-raiser for the Rector’s Discretionary Fund and have gotten over thirty ready for firing. As soon as these are “bone dry”, I’ll bisque fire them at Cone 06 and  then glaze them for firing at Cone 04. At this point they are a little rough but after a light sanding they should be good to go. Have a Happy and Blessed Easter!

Crosses manyCrosses close

About joeblanfordart

I am a painter and mark-maker working primarily in oil and watercolor. While I prefer a vivid, contemporary pallette, my style tends to be representational, drawing inspiration from a multitude of sources including the Balrbizon School and the Impresssionists that followed. Art is a journey and my approach is evolving with each new discovery.
This entry was posted in Art Work In Progress, Sculpture, Shows and Other News and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

